Bengaluru INDIA NANO 2017
7-8 Dec, 2017

The Lalit Ashok, Bengaluru

image Prof. C.N.R. Rao, FRS
Linus Pauling Research Professor; Honorary President, JNCASR;
Chairman, Vision Group on Science & Technology;
Chairman, Vision Group on Nanotechnology, Government of Karnataka Chief Mentor of Bengaluru INDIA NANO

Prof. C.N.R. Rao (born on 30 June 1934, Bangalore, India) received the M.Sc. degree from Banaras, Ph.D. from Purdue, D.Sc. from Mysore universities.  He is Honorary President and Linus Pauling Research Professor at the Jawaharlal Nehru Centre for Advanced Scientific Research.  He is also an Honorary Professor at the Indian Institute of Science.   His main research interests are in solid state and materials chemistry.   He is an author of over 1650 research papers and 50 books.  He has received honoris causa doctorate degrees from 77 universities including Purdue, Bordeaux, Banaras, Calcutta, Sri Venkateswara, Delhi, IIT Bombay, IIT Kharagpur, IIT Kanpur, IIT New Delhi, IIT Guwahati, IISERs (Bhopal, Kolkata, Mohali, Pune),  Northwestern, Notre Dame, Novosibirsk, Oxford, Stellenbosch, Temple, Université Joseph Fourier, Grenoble, Uppsala, Wales, Wroclaw, Caen, Liverpool, St. Andrews, Canberra, Taiwan and Desikottama from Visva-Bharati.


Prof. Rao is a member of several of the science academies in the world, including the Royal Society, London, the National Academy of Sciences, U.S.A., the Russian, French and Japan Academies as well as the American Philosophical Society. He is a Member of the Pontifical Academy of Sciences and Foreign Fellow of Academia Europaea, the Royal Society of Canada and the Chinese Academy of Sciences.  He is a distinguished visiting professor of the University of California.


Among the various medals, honours and awards received by him, mention may be made of the Marlow  Medal  of the Faraday Society (1967), Bhatnagar Prize  (1968), Padma Shri (1974), Royal Society of Chemistry (London) Medal (1981), Padma Vibhushan (1985), Honorary Fellowship of the Royal Society of Chemistry, London (1989), Blackett Lectureship of  the  Royal  Society (1991),  Einstein Gold Medal of UNESCO (1996), Linnett Professorship of the University of Cambridge (1998),  Centenary Medal of the Royal Society of Chemistry, London (2000), Hughes Medal of the Royal Society, London, for original discovery in physical sciences (2000), Karnataka Ratna (2001), the Order of Scientific Merit (Grand-Cross) from the President of Brazil (2002) and the Somiya Award of the International Union of Materials Research (2004).  He is the first recipient of the India Science Award by the Government of India and received the Dan David Prize for science in the future dimension for his research in Materials Science in 2005. He was named Chemical Pioneer by the American Institute of Chemists (2005), Chevalier de la Légion d’Honneur by the President of the French Republic (2005) and received the Honorary Fellowship of the Institute of Physics, London (2006) and of St. Catherine’s College, Oxford (2007).  He received the Nikkei Asia Prize for Science, Technology and Innovation in 2008 and was awarded the Royal Medal by the Royal Society (2009) and the August-Wilhelm-von-Hoffmann Medal by the German Chemical Society (2010).  He received the Ernesto Illy Trieste Science Prize for materials research in 2011 and was Albert Einstein Professor of the Chinese Academy of Sciences in 2012.  He was conferred the title Bharat Ratna in 2014.  The Emperor of Japan bestowed the Order of the Rising Sun, Gold and Silver Star in 2015.  He received the highest award for materials research, von Hippel award from the Materials Research Society in 2017.


Prof. Rao was Chairman, Scientific Advisory Council to the Prime Minister during 2004-2014 and also 1985-89.  He was President of The Academy of Sciences for the Developing World (TWAS).  He is Founder-President of both the Chemical Research Society of India and of the Materials Research Society of India.  Prof. Rao was President of the Indian National Science Academy (1985-86), the Indian Academy of Sciences (1989-91) and the International Union of Pure and Applied Chemistry (1985-97).  He was the Director of the Indian Institute of Science (1984-94), and Chairman, Scientific Advisory Committee to the Union Cabinet (1997-98) and Albert Einstein Research Professor (1995-99).

THE VENUE : The Lalit Ashok, Bengaluru

The Lalit Ashok is one of the finest five star hotels amongst all Bangalore luxury hotels, offering an experience of luxury in contemporary and relaxed homely comfort. The hotel is strategically located in the highly secured diplomatic enclave, while sharing its wall with the Chief Minister' s house and offers a lovely view of the sprawling Bangalore Golf Club. The Lalit Ashok Bangalore is the closest 5 star hotel from the airport.



Media Partners

© Copyright 2015-2016, MMactiv. All Rights Reserved.
Web Interface Conceived & Driven By : SCI Knowledge Interlinks